Community announcements:

Cory and Mark Derer welcomed a new addition of a baby boy to their family on December 30, 2013 at the Pottstown Memorial Medical Center.

Residents of Cumru Township: You can drop Christmas trees at Tree Drop locations throughout the Township.

Look for the signs at the Warren Recreation Center parking lot, the Gouglersville and Grill Fire Stations, the Montrose Manor Playground, the Pennwyn Playground (lower level parking lot on Wyomissing Avenue), Augusta Lane in Flying Hills, the rear of Giant, on Harding Avenue, and between Tioga Avenue and Bradford Avenue.

Trees may be dropped off at these points until January 31, 2014. Wood chips resulting from the trees are available to residents of the Township on a first call basis. For further information, contact the Township Office.

Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania released its list of students named to the Deans List for the fall semester of the 2013-2014 academic year. To qualify for Deans List, a student must earn a quality point average of 3.5 or higher (based on 4.0) during the semester. The following students made the Deans List:

Liana Watson, Reading

Andrew Lee Watson, Birdsboro

Sorcha Madalee Smith, Birdsboro

Slyssa Megan Blood, Reading

Hayley Noelle Cavanaugh, Douglassville

Devon Anne Chilensky, Douglassville

Jaclyn Desiree Cortellessa, Birdsboro

Dalinda Donato, Reading

Sophie Susan Eddinger, Douglassville

Alyssa M Feairheller, Douglassville

Ashley M Feairheller, Douglassville

Erin Marie Gerber, Douglassville

Alana Nicole Greene, Douglassville

Eric N Hiser, Reading

Tayor N Leiser, Reading

Amanda Baer, Douglassville

Megan L Berbaum, Reading

Nicholas Bilski, Mohnton

Noah C Mantione, Mohnton

Elaine Hope McCauley, Birdsboro

Miriam Ann Mealand, Birdsboro

Emily Elizabeth Moyer, Robesonia

Lauren E Proud, Douglassville

Kristin G Pyle, Douglassville

Brianna F Roussel, Reading

Morgan Jane Sandritter, Reading

- The following student were named to the Fall 2013 Deans List at York College of Pennsylvania. To be eligible for this honor, students must be registered for at least 12 academic credit hours and earn a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Erica Arantowicz of Birdsboro, a senior Graphic Design

Jeffrey Bortz of Reading, a senior Speech/Communications

Karissa Brusca of Birdsboro, a senior Nursing

Sydney Drury of Birdsboro, a freshman Biology

Leah Hendrie of Douglassville, a senior Nursing

Ashley Hiltebeitel of Reading, a freshman Nursing

Katelyn Reifsnyder of Reading, a freshman Behavioral Science

Andrew Tucci of Birdsboro, a senior Marketing

Join the Conversation