Area racing

Photo by Rich Kepner
Criag VonDohren won the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen 358 Modified feature at Grandview Speedway Saturday night.
Photo by Rich Kepner Criag VonDohren won the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen 358 Modified feature at Grandview Speedway Saturday night.


It was the battle of the No. 19s at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday Night as Stevie Smith and Brent Marks Battled right down to the finish line for the 410 sprint car feature victory.And in the end it was the No. 19M of Marks who stole Smiths win on the final corner. Stevie Smith finished second followed by Greg Hodnett, Lance Dewease and Brian Montieth. Sixth through 10th went to Alan Krimes, Ryan Smith, Fred Rahmer, Danny Dietrich and Cory Haas. Kevin Nouse won the 358 Sprint feature


Billy Pauch Jr. has not finished lower than third in the SpeedSTR races hes run this season at the Action Track USA at the Kutztown Fairgounds. On Wednesday, June 19, the Frenchtown, NJ driver added another impressive statistic to his 2013 resume...he captured his second consecutive victory in the Sunoco USAC Championship SpeedSTR division, racing to the win in the 30-lap feature race at Action Track USA.

Kyle Lick, Catasauqua Pa., charged to his second triumph of the season in the 20-lapper for the Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprints, while Kutztowns own Jarid Kunkle doubled in the winged 270cc Micros, winning the postponed Goldie Meitzler Memorial to open Wednesdays show, then roaring to a second victory in the regularly scheduled main event for the 270s.

Danny Buccafusca, from Rockaway NJ, notched the All Star Slingshot triumph. It was the teenagers first win at Kutztowns Action Track USA.


The Junior Slingshots made their second appearance of the season on Wednesday, with Virginville, Pa.s Dakota Kohler picking up the win.


Craig Von Dohren had about as perfect of an evening as a racer could have. Von

Dohren won his heat and the 30 lap feature event Friday evening at Big Diamond Speedway. The victory was his forth of the season and 300th of his storied career. All four victories have come in 30 lap/$3,000 to win events. With the victory, Von Dohren was also able to extend his lead in the season long point standings.

Mike Mamanna held on for a season best second place finish, followed by Strunk, Meme Desantis, and Frank Cozze. Dale Hartz continued a nice run of top ten finishes coming home 6th, followed by Ricky Yetter, Shawn Fitzpatrick, Ray Swinehart, and Billy Pauch Jr.

In the 20 lap Sportsman feature, Ray Woodall was able to race away to his 1st victory of the season, followed by Mike Lisowski, Jarred Umbenhauer, early leader Andy Cozze, and rookie Robin Schultz. Sixth thru tenth were Wayne Witmer, Billy Moyer Jr., Colt Harris, Kevin Beach, and Harry Landis.


Jared Umbenhauer took the top honors in the 40-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature race at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night picking up $1600 for his efforts. The 30-lap NASCAR Whelen 358 Modified feature was won with a last lap, fourth turn pass by Craig VonDohren for this third win of the season while Chuck Schutz took home the victory in the 25-lap Late Model feature race.

Ronnie Krex led 24 laps in the Sportsman feature before Jared Umbenhauer was able to charge to the front after coming from 13th starting spot and lead the rest of the 40-lap race to earn his third win of the season. The win also allowed him to increase his lead in the race for his second Sportsman title. Second spot was taken by Kenny Gilmore followed by Paul Kline, Ronnie Krex and Tommy Scheetz III.

In the 30-lap Modified feature six time track champion VonDohren came from 15th starting spot to take the lead from Tommy Scheetz III coming off the fourth turn of the final lap of the race and grab the win. Second spot went to Scheetz followed by Glenn Strunk, Jeff Strunk and Don Norris Jr. The win was worth $2750 to VonDohren including the TP Trailers $250 bonus. In addition he picked up $150 worth of VP Racing Fuel for being the highest finisher using racing gas.

Defending Late Model champion Chuck Schutz increased his lead in the chase for another title as he won the 25-lap Late Model championship. Sean Merkel, who lead most of the feature race, finished second with Wayne Pfeil, Mike Kellner and Steve Todorow following.


Greg Hodnett came to Lincoln Saturday night toprepare for the 23rd Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek. Hes prepared.

Hodnett, who has had an up-and-down season after suffering a serious handinjury and missing several races earlier this year, scored his 26th careerwin in the Pigeon Hills, moving him past Steve Siegel into sole possessionof 11th place on the all-time Lincoln win list.

Hodnett drove to a 1.06-second win over Cory Haas . Points leader Fred Rahmer came from 12th starting spot to crossthird, extending his season-long streak of top-ten finishes to 31 straight.

Stevie Smith and Alan Krimes completed the top five, with Gerarrd McIntyre, BrianMontieth, Jim Siegel, Brent Marks, and Billy Dietrich roundingout the top ten.

Not too many drivers win a track title before winning their first careerfeature, but Tim Wagaman did it in the 358 sprint division Saturdaynight.

The defending track champ took to the top side to come from sixth startingspot and score his first-ever Lincoln win.


Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove scored his second 410 sprint win of the season at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night and moved back out in front of the point standings after spending two weeks as runner-up to Chad Layton.

Lance Dewease then tried to keep pace with the leader but was far outdistanced for the win, crossing the line 2.301 seconds behind Heimbach. The race for third heated up during the last five laps as 11th starter TJ Stutts surged and took third from Nate Snyder with just two laps to go. Snyder rode home fourth followed by Pat Cannon. Sixth through 10th went to Mike Wagner, Cliff Brian, Dylan Cisney, Keith Kauffman and Curt Stroup. Tim Wilson won in the Super Lat Model division. His margin over Terry Naugle was 2.327 seconds at the line with Dylan Yoder third followed by Andy Haus and Matt Parks. Sixth through 10th went to Chad Hollenbeck, Jerry Bard, Steve Axtell Jr., Jeff Miller Sr. and Jim Yoder.


For the second week in a row, Pat Cannon of Etters found himself in a hotly-contested battle for the lead and win in Saturday nights 30-lap Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Cannon see-sawed for the lead with Ryan Kissinger of Bloomsburg for several laps late in the race before securing the front spot and scoring his fifth win of the year and third in the Whitcomb Memorial. The $1,771 victory was his 46th career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the track

Cannon was also the Fast Tees Fast Timer of the night in qualifying with a lap time of 17.430 (109.384 average miles per hour).

Jeff Rine of Danville turned in a convincing performance for his fourth win of the year and 83rd of his career at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap late model feature.


Scott Geesey roared through the Super Sportsman field to win his first of the season. Randy Stoudt, making his third start of 2013, came from the middle of the pack to prevail in the 358 Late Model main.


Speedweeks for 410 Sprint Car Series will open this Friday June 28 at Williams Grove, June 29 Lincoln, June 30 Big Diamond, July 2 Grandview, July 3 Hagerstown, July 4 Lincoln Speedway, July 5 Williams Grove , July 6 Port Royal and winding up at Selinsgrove July 7.