Area racing round-up

Photo by WRT Speedwerks
NASCARs  Tony Stewart celebrates in the Williams Grove Speedway Victory Lane after winning the URC race Friday evening.
Photo by WRT Speedwerks NASCARs Tony Stewart celebrates in the Williams Grove Speedway Victory Lane after winning the URC race Friday evening.


Colt Harris achieved a long term goal on Friday evening when he won the first 358 Modified feature event of his career at the Big Diamond Speedway. Harris, a local favorite at the 3/8 mile clay, has been racing at Big Diamond since 2005 and finally made it to Victory Lane after a flag-to flag win in the twenty-five lap feature event win.

Mike Glass was a first time winner in the Sportsman feature after apparent winner, Daryl Dissinger was disqualified by track officials. Marc Berzowski held off the late race advances of Jeremy Becker to win his third Roadrunner feature.


Reigning NASCAR champion Tony Stewart claimed the $4,000 to win URC Rislone Sprint Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, turning in a dominating performance in the 25-lap URC main. In the 410 sprint main, Steve Buckwalter wired the field for the victory to pick up $250 in lap money on top of his $3,600 winners share.

Aaron Ott rode home second followed by Chad Trout, Robbie Stillwaggon and Davie Franek. Sixth through 10th went to Eric Tomecek, Randy West, Ryan Bohlke, Ed Aiken and Josh Weller, Steve Buckwalter started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint main and led all the way although Doug Esh and Don Kreitz Jr. made attempts to steal his win.


Donnie Kreitz was second and Doug Esh finished third followed by Danny Dietrich and Brent Marks. Sixth through 10th went to Chad Layton, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer, Ryan Smith and Adam Wilt.


Trail-Ways all-time winningest driver took to the top side to score his first win of the year in the 25-lap 358 sprint car feature on Friday night.

Matt Boland was for second, with Mike Bittinger, Randy Whisler, and Tim Wagaman completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were points leader Kyle Moody (who came from the back after a spin on the initial start), Jordan Givler, Joe Trone, Jr., Jeff Rohrbaugh, and Austin Hogue. Hamburgs Keith Prutzman was 17th do to mechanical problems.

Lincoln Speedway And WILLIAM GROVE SPEEDWAY - Rained Out Sat Night.


The Selinsgrove Sensation, Blane Heimbach won the biggest sprint car race of his career to date Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway when he claimed the sixth edition of the Living Legends Dream Race aboard the Creasy Signs/Goff Racing No. 12. Sprint car driver and owner greats Lynn Paxton and Al Hamilton were honored during the evening as the 2012 Port Royal Speedway Living Legends Dream Race honorees. By the end of the night of racing, Heimbachs take neared $13,000 after all was totaled up.

Early in the night, Heimbach and reigning NASCAR champion Tony Stewart of Rushville, Ind., drove to victory in the twin 16-lap semi mains that were used to set the 30-lap Dream A Main field and both drivers claimed $2,000 for their efforts. It was his second career checkered flag at Port Royal Speedway and with $440 in lap money from the Dream A along with the posted $10,000 Dream winners share and his semi feature earnings of $2,320, Heimbachs final tally on the night was $12,760 .With a finish of second in the Dream A and a third in his semi main, Aaron Ott rode home with $5,700.Third in the Dream went to Danny Dietrich who took home $3,000 in total counting his finish of second in his semi feature. Fourth place in the Dream A was taken by Tony Stewart who pocketed a total of $3,700 on the night thanks to his lap money and a semi win.Mike Erdley took fifth in the Dream A Main and scored $2,000 for his combined A and semi main finishes. Sixth through 10th in the Dream A Main went to Alan Krimes, $1,750 combined total; Doug Esh, $2,000 combined total; Greg Hodnett, $1,800 combined total; Brent Marks, $1,305 combined total and Lance Dewease, $1,650 combined total.


Past track champion Ray Swinehart, who had not been to Grandview Speedways victory lane since May, 2009 made a return visit on Saturday night winning the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature in grand style. Chuck Schutz won his second Late Model feature of the season while Brad Brightbill came home first in the 25-lap Sportsman feature for the second time this season.

Swinehart put the Graber Lettering No. 33 in front just past the halfway mark the Modified feature and made it look easy as he had a comfortable lead over second place Todd Smith who earned his best finish of the season. Third place went to Meme DeSantis while Craig VonDohren came from 24th to finish fourth followed by Brad Missimer.

Wayne Pfeil led much of the 20-lap Late Model feature race but lost the lead with five laps to go to Chuck Schutz who set the pace for the balance of the main event. Pfeil finished second followed by Kory Fleming, Steve Nederostek and Ron Kline.

The Sportsman feature, a crash fest for the first few laps, had Brad Brightbill getting the lead on the eighth lap and leading the rest of the way to gain the win. Ryan Beltz, the early leader, finished second chased to the finish line by Kyle Borrow, Jared Umbenhauer and Kaitie McCardle.

Umbenhauers fourth place finish put in front in the Sportsman standings as Craig Whitmoyer, who had led the standings for much of the season, did not finish the feature race.


Nick Dickson of Lewistown wired the field for his second career win in the 14th annual Late Model Open. The victory in the 30-lap feature was Dicksons fourth of the season at four different speedways and was worth $5,000. Andy Haus of Hamburg set fast time with a lap of 19.538.

Mark Smith of Sunbury avoided a 12-car melee at the start of Saturday nights 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway and went on to score his second win of the season at the track driving the Mach 1 Chassis No. 1 racer.