Area weekend racing wrap-up

Photo by Tony DeSeta
Brian Montieth, Collegeville, Does a wheel stand coming out of turn 2 at Lincoln Speedway Saturday evening. Montieth went on to win the 33 lap Weldon Sterner Memorial and $7,100.
Photo by Tony DeSeta Brian Montieth, Collegeville, Does a wheel stand coming out of turn 2 at Lincoln Speedway Saturday evening. Montieth went on to win the 33 lap Weldon Sterner Memorial and $7,100.


Rick Lafferty of Pennington, New Jersey, scored the Williams Grove Speedway 410 sprint car feature on Friday night, taking $3,600 for the win plus $150 in lap money. Steve Buckwalter was second, followed by Jim Siegel followed , Gerard McIntyre Jr. and Greg Hodnett. Sixth through 10th went to Alan Krimes, Bent Marks, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer and Ryan Smith.

Kevin Nouse took top honors in the 358 sprint division . Austin Hogue was second followed by Rodney Westhafer, Mark Smith and Tim Berkheimer.


Brian Montieth, Collegeville, chased Fred Rahmer, Salfordsville,for 15 laps and then on lap 30 of the 33 lap feature, Montieth powered his way by and picked up the $7,100 first place monies in the Weldon Sterner Memorial at Lincoln Speedway. Rahmer held on for second followed by Jimmy Seigel, Greg Hodnett and Alan Krimes. Sixth through tenth were Lance Dewease, 16th-starting Cory Haas, Logan Schuchart, Adam Wilt, and Steve Owings. Westminster, Marylands J.B. Cunningham claimed his first career win in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature.


Mike Wagner, Matt Parks and Steve Buckwalter took the feature wins at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night in the 410 sprint, late model and ARDC Midgets mains, respectively. Rick Lafferty was second followed by Chad Layton in third. Dylan Cisney rode home fourth and Mike Erdley finished fifth. Sixth through 10th went to Blane Heimbach, Ryan Bohlke, Cliff Brian, Nate Snyder and Davey Sammons. Mike parks won the Super late Model feature that had Scott Haus return to racing and a strong 7th place finish.



Eric Tomecek of Abbottstown held off defending champion Pat Cannon of Etters for his first career win at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday nights 25-lap 358 sprint car main event. Eight-time champion Jeff Rine of Danville scored his first win of the season and the 80th of his career at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap late model feature. Jim Yoder was second and third went to Hamburgs, Andy Haus.


For the second week in a row defending 358 Modified champion Duane Howard was able to drive to victory in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. For the second time this season Mike Kellner put his #57 in victory lane at the end of the 25-lap Late Model feature and Kyle Borror won the 25-lap Sportsman feature race for the second time in his career.

In the closing laps of the NASCAR 358 Modified feature it looked like rookie Tim Buckwalter would walk off with his first career stock car win. As he and Duane Howard battled for the lead on the final lap in the second turn Buckwalter did a 360 spin that brought out the caution and sent him to the rear. Howard led the final lap to get the win followed by Doug Manmiller, Eric Biehn, Kevin Hirthler and Jon Kellner Sr.

The 25-lap feature for the Late Models had another fantastic finish with Danny Snyder chasing Mike Kellner across the finish line after a fan pleasing side-by-side race for the win. The victory was the second of the young season for Kellner. Third behind Snyder was Wayne Pfeil followed by Chuck Schutz and Jason Miller.

For the second time in his career Kyle Borror was able to win a 25-lap Sportsman feature at Grandview in a very close battle with second place finisher Craig Whitmoyer who had Brad Brightbill on his rear followed by rookie Jordon Henn and Kenny Gilmore.

Racing action on Saturday, May 11th at 7:30 p.m. will feature a tripleheader show of NASCAR 358 Modifieds, Late Models and Sportsman stock cars sponsored by Whelen Engineering. At least 14 events of racing. Spectator gates open at 5:30 p.m. Adult admission is just $15.00 while young people 12 and under enter for FREE.


Saturday night, at Williams Grove Speedway, Scott Geesey became the sixth different winner in the Super Sportsman Tour. Grant Adams dominated the 20-lap 358 Late Model feature.