Brubaker: Court Upholds General Assembly Redistricting Plan

Every ten years, the boundaries of legislative districts are redrawn to ensure every state resident receives equal representation in the General Assembly. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court recently upheld a revised plan that would make several notable changes to the 36th Senatorial District that I am privileged to represent.

As part of the revised plan, the 36th District will add the Lancaster County municipalities of Conoy Township, East Donegal Township, Mount Joy Township, West Donegal Township, East Petersburg Borough, Elizabethtown Borough and Marietta Borough. In the weeks and months to come, I look forward to meeting local residents in these communities and learning more about their concerns to ensure their interests are represented well in the state Senate.

Due to population shifts over the past decade, the 36th District will no longer include any municipalities from Chester County (the 2001 lines included five Chester County communities). The plan also removes the following Lancaster County municipalities from the 36th District due to population shifts: East Lampeter Township, Leacock Township, Paradise Township, Salisbury Township, Upper Leacock Township and Christiana Borough. It has been an honor to work for residents of these communities, and I deeply treasure all of the personal and working relationships forged over the past seven years as your state Senator.

While there were several changes to the district, a majority of the communities in our area will see no change in representation. I will continue to represent many of the same communities I have worked with over the past seven years in the General Assembly, including the following municipalities: Brecknock Township, Caernarvon Township, Clay Township, Earl Township, East Cocalico Township, East Earl Township, East Hempfield Township, Elizabeth Township, Ephrata Township, Penn Township, Rapho Township, Warwick Township, West Cocalico Township, West Earl Township and West Hempfield Township, Adamstown Borough, Akron Borough, Columbia Borough, Denver Borough, Ephrata Borough, Lititz Borough, Manheim Borough, Mount Joy Borough, Mountville Borough, New Holland Borough and Terre Hill Borough.


The new maps will go into effect for the 2014 election cycle. More information on new Senate and House districts and the redistricting process is available online at

PA 529 Contest Offers Families a Chance to Win $529 for Higher Education

The Pennsylvania Treasury Department supports a number of programs designed to make a college education more affordable for individuals and families. One of the Treasurys most valuable college savings plans is the PA 529 College Savings program, which allows families to earn interest that is guaranteed to keep pace with the rate of inflation for education costs.

To help raise awareness about the program, the Treasury is sponsoring a new contest this month that offers state residents a chance to win $529 for college. Entries for the contest must be received by May 31.

The contest is open to any state resident who has a PA 529 Guaranteed Savings Plan account. Enrollment in a PA 529 plan is free through May 31. State residents can participate in the contest by entering their contact information online at Five winners will be selected via a random drawing to receive a $529 contribution to a PA 529 Guaranteed Savings Plan.

More information about the PA 529 College Savings Program is available online at

For more information on issues of importance to Pennsylvania residents, please visit my website at