The Berks-Mont News (

Area Racing

By Ken Johnson

Monday, June 3, 2013

A World of Outlaws Late Model veteran and a burgeoning DIRTCAR Modified star led the parade of feature winners on Wednesday evening at the Action Track USA in Kutztown. Rick Eckert, the York, Pa. wheel-twister and former WoO Late Model champ, notched the victory in the postponed main event for the Sunoco USAC Championship SpeedSTR’s, taking the checkered over Billy Pauch Jr. in the Goldie Meitzler Memorial that was rained out on May 22. In the regularly scheduled 30-lapper for the SpeedSTR’s, Mike Mahaney took advantage of a spin by Eckert -who was leading at the time - to score the victory. The blooming dirt Modified superstar from King Ferry, NY, stormed to the win with Pauch Jr. - subbing for his dad in the second race - once again recording a runner-up effort.
Flagtown, NJ resident Jay Hartman won the Pioneer Pole Buildings Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprint main event, while “the Thriller” Matt Miller, from Blandon, won the NAPA Auto Parts All Star Slingshot headliner. The Slingers were taking part in a Mid-Atlantic Silver Regional Tour event on Wednesday.
Young charger Tommy Kunsman Jr., the Bethlehem, Pa. driver, was victorious in the 20-lap feature race for winged 270cc Micro-Sprints.
RESULTS:USAC Championship SpeedSTR’s, Feature #1 (30 laps): 1.Rick Eckert, 2.Billy Pauch Jr., 3.Mike Mahaney, 4.Chuck Schutz, 5.Kenny Brightbill, 6.Billy Pauch Sr., 7.Jeff Strunk, 8.Craig VonDohren, 9.Matt Janisch, 10.Brandon Rahmer, 11.Paul Lotier Jr., 12.Brittany Wixon, 13.Dale Planck, 14.Al Arrisher, 15.Craig Rochelle, 16.John Kovatch, 17.Chad Layton, 18.Gary Huber, 19.Wayne Weaver, 20.Freddie Rahmer Jr.
USAC Championship SpeedSTR’s, Feature #2 (30 laps): 1.Mike Mahaney, 2.Billy Pauch Jr., 3.Kenny Brightbill, 4.Brandon Rahmer, 5.Brittany Wixon, 6.Wayne Weaver, 7.Paul Lotier Jr., 8.Brad Brightbill, 9.Brian Montieth, 10.Gary Huber, 11.Rick Eckert, 12.Chad Layton, 13.Mike Bednar, 14.Dale Planck, 15.Freddie Rahmer Jr., 16.Matt Janisch, 17.Chuck Schutz, 18.Jeff Strunk. DNS: Richard Janney, Al Arrisher.
Pioneer Pole Buildings Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprints, 20 laps: 1.Jay Hartman, 2.Brett Schoenly, 3.Tim Buckwalter, 4.Brian Carber, 5.James Morris, 6.Simon Egan, 7.Rick Perone, 8.Shane Lewis, 9.Brandon Azzalina, 10.Jeff Hartman,
NAPA All Star Slingshots: Mid-Atlantic Silver Regional Tour Race, 20 laps: 1.Matt Miller, 2.Travis Bieber, 3.Joe Bodenschatz, 4.Donny Hockman, 5.Kurt Bettler, 6.Chris Kurtz, 7.Larry Raifsnider, 8.Joe Howey, 9.Joe Nemeth, 10.Danny Buccafusca,
Winged 270cc Micro-Sprints, 20 laps: 1.Tommy Kunsman Jr., 2.Jarid Kunkle, 3.Ross Perchak, 4.Josh Stoyer, 5.Pete Skias, 6.Harlee Schaffer, 7.Cheyanne Schaffer, 8.Jessica Miller, 9.Bobby Butler, 10.Michael, Weinert,
Current points leader Craig Von Dohren continued the torrid start to his 2013 campaign, winning his 3rd feature event of the season. Ironically, all three victories have been in extra distance, 30 lap, $3,000 to win events. Meme Desantis was able to come home
2nd, with Doug Manmiller, Tim Buckwalter, and 25th starting Billy Pauch Jr. rounding out the top five. Jeff Strunk, Kevin Smith, Craig Whitmoyer, Andy Burkhart, and Kevin Albert Jr. completed the top ten. In the Sportsman 20 lap main event,Jared Umbenhauer scored his third victory of the season at Big Diamond Speedway. Billy Moyer Jr. continued the great start to his season by coming home second,
Alan Krimes and Brie Hershey wired the fields for the sprint car wins on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway on Charity Night. Krimes took the 410 sprint main worth $4,000 after starting on the pole while Hershey took her career first in the 358 sprint feature, likewise starting from the pole position. Krimes cruised to the victory, the third of his career at Williams Grove, followed by Rick Lafferty, Fred Rahmer, Donnie Kreitz and Greg Hodnett.Sixth through 10th went to Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease, Brent Marks, Steve Buckwalter and Brian Montieth.
Lady Driver Brie Hershey was trailed by Eric Tomecek the entire distance in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature and found Tomecek blasting the top groove during the final five laps in an effort to steal her win. But Hershey was not to be denied, driving smooth and straight to record the checkers.
Chad Layton of Harrisburg beat out fellow front row starter Greg Hodnett to notch his second Port Royal Speedway 410 sprint car win of the season on Saturday night, worth $3,000. It was Laytons 10th career victory at the oval. Eighth starter Doug Esh finished third followed by Steve Buckwalter and Mike Erdley. Sixth through 10th went to Dylan Cisney, Lance Dewease, Rick Lafferty, Keith Kauffman and 19th starter Blane Heimbach. Glenn Elliott won the Super Late Model feature. Matt Parks was second followed by Terry Naugle, Tim Wilson and Chris Casner. Sixth through 10th went to Mike Lupfer, Andy Haus, Mitch Hack, Jeff Miller and Brett Schadel.
Defending Lincoln champ Danny Dietrich is back. And for the first 21 laps of the “410” sprint car feature Saturday night,the Dietrichs, ( Billy and Danny) were the show. The two raced wheel-to-wheel for the lead through lapped traffic before Danny made the race-winning pass on lap 15. 13th starter Brett Marks was second while Billy settled for a well-earned third-place finish, with 13th-starting Cory Haas passing two cars on the final lap to cross fourth. Completing the top five was Alan Krimes. Sixth through tenth were 12th-starting Brian Montieth, Jim Siegel, Fred Rahmer, Logan Schuchart, and Robbie Kendall. After nine races, Manchester’s Austin Hogue became the season’s first repeat winner in the 20-lap “358 sprint car feature.
Pat Cannon of Etters had to track down Mark Smith of Sunbury to notch his third win of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.
The $1,500 win was Cannon’s 44th career at the track in 358-360 sprint car competition driving the Highlands Tire & Service Center No. 3.
Jeff Rine of Danville won his third late model feature of the season and the 82nd of his career at the speedway in the division’s 25-lap main event. With the win, Rine took over the points lead in the chase for the track championship.
For the fourth time this season Duane Howard was able to win at Grandview Speedway Saturday night claiming the top prize in the 30-lap PBGW Accounting NASCAR 358 Modified feature race. Paul Kline grabbed his first win in the Sportsman 25-lap feature while Sam Schlosberg took the top honors in the 25-lap Late Model feature.
Craig VonDohren put some heavy pressure on Duane Howard in the closing laps of the NASCAR 358 Modified feature race but had to settle for a strong second place effort. Howard, in the Chad Sinon owned BPG Racing No. 4, came from 16th starting spot to pick up $2750 for his winning effort. Third spot went to Meme DeSantis who led early. Ray Swinehart also was the leader briefly in the early laps settled for fourth while Doug Manmiller grabbed fifth.n
Paul Kline grabbed the top spot in the 24 car Sportsman feature and held the top spot to the finish with Jared Umbenhauer closing quickly at the finish to grab second. Tommy Scheetz II was third followed by Kyle Borror and Kenny Gilmore.
Former sprint car racer Sam Schlosberg had Kory Fleming to contend with for most of the 25-lap Late Model but managed to hold on for the win. Fleming got second followed by Sean Merkel, Jason Miller and Wayne Pfeil.
Wednesday, June 5, 7:30 p.m. Thunder on the Hill Racing Series featuring United States Auto Club Wingless Sprint Cars and American Racing Drivers Club Wingless Midgets
Chad Criswell put on a show to win his 2nd feature in as many weeks on the Blazers Body Shop Super Sportsman Tour. Grant Adams survived a few wrecks to win the 20 lap Newville Electrical Services 358 Late Model feature.