Area racing round-up

Billy Pauch in Victory lane at Action Track USA.
Billy Pauch in Victory lane at Action Track USA.


A couple of USAC Sprint Car aces entered Tuesday nights event at the Action Track USA in Kutztown, and that may have provided some motivation for the other 103 drivers to get up on the wheel because the racing was simply terrific in all four divisions. With 2012 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Champion Bryan Clauson and Kevin Thomas Jr. - a three-time winner this season on USACs National Sprint Car Tour - in the field, two drivers from the local region had their elbows up to notch big victories in the open cockpit divisions on Tuesday. Billy Pauch Sr. passed Clauson for the lead, then went on to win the Flyin Farmer 40 for the Sunoco USAC Championship SpeedSTRs. Pauch, from Frenchtown, NJ, earned $3,000 for the triumph in a race that paid tribute to the late, great Tommy Hinnershitz of Oley. Jason VanDoren captured a hotly contested 20-lap main event for the Pioneer Pole Building Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprints. VanDoren, a former track champion at the Kutztown Fairgrounds, narrowly defeated James Morris and Kyle Lick in the closest three-car finish ever seen at the Berks County oval. Brett Bieber, Oley Pa., scored his first feature win on the reconfigured Action Track USA when he beat Larry Raifsnider to the checkered flag in the NAPA Auto Parts All Star Slingshot main event. Third generation driver Dylan Swinehart ran away with the Junior Slingshot feature race. Swinehart led all the way in the 20-lap main for the younger Slingshot racers.

RESULTS:Sunoco USAC Championship SpeedSTRs Flyin Farmer 40 Results: 1.Billy Pauch Sr., 2.Bryan Clauson, 3.Kenny Brightbill, 4.Dale Planck, 5.Craig Von Dohren, 6.Chuck Schutz, 7.Mike Mahaney, 8.Chad Layton, 9.Richard Janney, 10.Brittany Wixon, 11.Craig Rochelle, 12.Freddie Rahmer Jr., 13.Brandon Rahmer, 14.Paul Lotier Jr., 15.Wayne Weaver, 16.Matt Janisch, 17.Al Arrisher, 18.Jeff Strunk, 19.Brad Brightbill, 20.John Kovatch.

Pioneer Pole Buildings Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprint Finish, 20 laps: 1.Jason VanDoren, 2.James Morris, 3.Kyle Lick, 4.Brian Carber, 5.Jay Hartman, 6.Billy Ney, 7.David Graziano, 8.Brett Schoenly, 9.Jeff Hartman, 10.Joe Kay, 11.Blaine Emery, 12.Chris Stockham, 13.Carey Becker, 14.Molly Chambers, 15.Billy Murphy, 16.Donny Smith, 17.Bryan Clauson, 18.Chris Rupp, 19.Ryan Morris, 20.Tim Buckwalter, 21.Ryan Neil, 22.Kevin Thomas Jr., 23.Rhett Long. DQ: Tony DiMattia.


NAPA Auto Parts All Star Slingshots Finish, 20 laps: 1.Brett Bieber, 2.Larry Raifsnider, 3.Chris Kurtz, 4.William Mohring, 5.Matt Miller, 6.Matt Mertz, 7.Louden Reimert, 8.Donny Hockman, 9.Ed Shaub, 10.Ray Nemeth, 11.Cody Kline, 12.Joe Nemeth, 13.Mike Homeijer, 14.Kalli Hartman, 15.Kyle Gruber, 16.Jim Laubach, 17.David Kreis, 18.Erik Jones, 19.Mark Sensenig, 20.Damian Nemeth, 21.Danny Buccafusca, 22.Dylan Hoch, 23.Travis Bieber, 24.Matt Massone.

Junior Slingshots Finish, 20 laps: 1.Dylan Swinehart, 2.Amber Britto, 3.Kassidy Kreitz, 4.Dyllon Steuer, 5.Tyler Lindsay, 6.Alex Yankowski, 7.Chloe Andreas, 8.Dakota Kohler, 9.Joe Malson.


Daron Clayton from Sikeston, Missouri has a reputation for crowd-pleasing high-wire acts on race tracks across the country. On Wednesday night at Grandview Speedway, the Eastern Storm opened up with an unbelievable display from Clayton en route to winning the 40-lap Jesse Hockett Classic Feature.FEATURE: (40 laps) 1. Daron Clayton, 2. Bryan Clauson, 3. Levi Jones, 4. Hunter Schuerenberg, 5. Chase Stockon, 6. Shane Cottle, 7. Chris Windom, 8. Dave Darland, 9. Brady Bacon, 10. Matt Westfall, 11. Tracy Hines, 12. Mark Smith, 13. Tyler Courtney, 14. Nick Drake, 15. Mark Bitner, 16. Joey Biasi, 17. C.J. Leary, 18. Trevor Utt, 19. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 20. Brent Marks, 21. Landon Simon, 22. Robert Ballou, 23. Billy Pauch, Jr. NT

WILLIAMS GROVE, BIG DIAMOND, TRAILWAY All Friday evening racing was postponed due to the rain.

GRANDVIEW (Saturday)

For the second week in a row Craig VonDohren chased Duane Howard across the finish line in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway. It was the fifth win of the season for defending champion Howard. Danny Snyder drove to his first win of the season in the 25-lap NASCAR Late Model feature and Brett Kressley took the top honors in the 25-lap Sportsman feature race for the third time this season on Saturday night.Howard charged past Meme DeSantis on the eighteenth lap to take the lead and set the pace for the balance of the 358 Modified feature race which was marked by several accidents. At the finish Craig VonDohren, who was forced to start at the rear of the 30-car starting field after being involved in an early race skirmish, was close to a challenging position but had to settle for second. Third spot went to Meme DeSantis, who led early, followed by Jon Kellner Sr. and Jeff Strunk who charged back from an early race accident.Danny Snyder rode to his first win of the season in the 25 lap Late Model feature race. Bill Henning, who led early, finished second followed by Sam Schlosberg, Mike Kellner and Kory Fleming.The 25-lap feature for Sportsman was won for the third time this season by Brett Kressley with a healthy margin of victory over second place rookie Jordan Henn. Third spot went to Craig Whitmoyer followed by Joe Funk and Paul Kline.


1. Duane Howard, Oley, 2427*****2. Craig VonDohren, Boyertown 2314**3. Frank Cozze, Easton,1504. Jeff Strunk, Bechtelsville 20315. Doug Manmiller, Shoemakersville 2024*6. Meme DeSantis,Temple 1897*7. Jordan Umbenhauer, Richland, PA 17928. Nate Christman Oley 17549. Kyle Weiss, Hamburg 169010. Kevin Hirthler, Boyertown 160311. Mike Gular, Green Lane 160212. Glenn Strunk, Bechtelsville 145313. John Willman, Birdsboro 143114. Ryan Grim, Laurys Station 137115. Jarrad Miller, Barto 121116. Ray Swinehart, Perkiomenville 118417. Tommy Scheetz III, Boyertown 117018. Tim Buckwalter, Royersford

19. Jon Kellner Sr. Lansdale 113220. Don Norris, Douglassville 1120


Last time Fred Rahmer won a feature at Lincoln Speedway, his good friend Dick Berggren was there to watch. This time, his good friend Tony Stewart was in the field. Fred Rahmer held off the challenges of Brian Montieth and Lance Dewease to claim Saturday nights 25-lap Darryl Gohn/Glenn Gohn, Sr. Memorial for 410 sprint cars Saturday night. In the process, Rahmer continued his amazing run of 26 top-ten finishes in 26 races in the Northeast this year, established a post-weight rule record of 6-minutes, 20.436 seconds for 25 laps, and claimed a total of $4,445 in winnings as part of the memorial event. Among the competitors Saturday night was three-time NASCAR champion Tony Stewart, who started and finished 13th.


National sprint car veteran Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind., turned in a flag to flag performance in Saturday nights 30-lap USAC Sprint Eastern Storm feature event at Port Royal Speedway, worth $6,000 for the win. In the 20-lap ARDC Midget feature, Bruce Buckwalter Jr. scored the victory.


Pat Cannon of Etters and Jason Shultz of Carlisle thrilled fans with a wheel-to-wheel duel for the win in Saturday nights 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway. On the 18th circuit Cannon secured the lead and went on to win his fourth race of the year and 45th of his career at the track in 358-360 sprint car competition driving the Highlands Tire & Service Centers No. 3. Coleby Frye of Dover pulled off an exciting win over Jeff Rine of Danville with a lap 27 pass in the 30-lap Chevrolet championship race. Frye earned $2,500 for his second win of the season and the 11th of his career at Selinsgrove. Rine set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 19.350 (98.53 average miles per hour) seconds. Andy Haus, Hamburg, finished 9th