Emma Yoder of Kutztown inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Submitted Eleven students at The Swain School, Allentown, were recently inducted into the National Junior Honor Society. From left: Aaron Shoemaker, Alec Lawless, Emma Yoder, Tyler Schellenberg, Sophia Fabiano, Brooke Wilten, Elektra Benkrid, Taylor Attix, Mary Kenyon, Harrison Ike and Thomas Cope.

Seventh grader Emma Yoder of Kutztown was one of 11 Swain School students inducted into the National Junior Honor Society.

In addition to Yoder, the students include eighth grader Taylor Attix (Easton), and seventh graders Elektra Benkrid, Harrison Ike, Mary Kenyon, Tyler Schellenberg and Aaron Shoemaker, all of Allentown, Thomas Cope of Fogelsville, Sophia Fabiano of Macungie, Alec Lawless and Brooke Wilten of Bethlehem.

To achieve this honor, the students had to meet certain academic requirements and exhibit characteristics such as leadership and service.

Thomas Ike of Allentown was the guest speaker, encouraging the students to pursue the five ideals of the National Junior Honor Society: citizenship, character, leadership, scholarship and service. He is Vice President at Lutron Electronics Company and the father of Swain students Harrison and Davis.

The National Junior Honor Society was founded in 1929, the same year that The Swain School opened its doors. Swain is a co-educational, independent college preparatory school.

Join the Conversation