Area racing round-up

Donnie Kreitz Jr takes home more then $13,000 for his win Saturday night at the Port Royal Speedway.
Donnie Kreitz Jr takes home more then $13,000 for his win Saturday night at the Port Royal Speedway.


Don Kreitz Jr. of Sinking Spring entered competition at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night for the first time in nearly four years and walked off with the 46th annual Tuscarora 50 sprint car triumph, worth $12,000 plus another $1,200 in lap money to take a total of $13,200 back to Berks County along with a trophy bigger than he for this third overall victory in the prestigious and classic event.

It was his 12th career win at the oval and he credited 79-year old wizard veteran mechanic Dave Brown Sr. for the victory. Gettysburg’s Danny Dietrich settled for second, after starting 15th, at the finish. With a twinkle in his eye, Brian Montieth, Phonixville, ended third in the race and admitted to having great fun during his exhibition of skill while racing mere inches from disaster for most of the race.

Montieth started 24th and had the 10,000 racing fans standing as he drove from 24th starting spot to third in a fantastic driving display. Ryan Smith, Kunkeltown, was fourth at the finish with Lance Dewease ending fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Cap Henry, Tim Shaffer, Greg Hodnett, Mike Wagner and Danny Holtgraver. Heats for the 40-car field went to Adam Wilt, Stevie Smith, Dewease and Mike Wagner. Brian Leppo won the B Main.Tim Shaffer set quick time in qualifications with a lap of 16.827 seconds.



Coming from 16th starting spot Craig VonDohren charged into the front of the field in the closing laps of the 30-lap NASCAR Whelan 358 Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway Saturday night leading the final laps to grab his sixth win of the season. The Oley racer earned the 2013 NASCAR Modified championship marking his seventh time as the track champion.

In the 25-lap Late Model feature Wayne Pfeil of Mohnton led all the laps to capture his first win of the season while Jason Miller grabbed a third place finish and just managed to nose out Danny Snyder and six time champion Chuck Schutz to earn his first Late Model championship. The 25-lap feature for Sportsman saw Brett Kressley gain his fifth win of the season while Jared Umbenhauer of Richland won the Sportsman title for the second year in a row.

Finishing a close second to VonDohren in the Modified feature race was Jon Kellner Sr. Third spot went to Ryan Grim followed by early leader Addison Meitzler and Tim Buckwalter.

Multi time feature winner Sam Schlosberg came home second to Pfeil in the 25-lap Late Model feature while Jason Miller earned third followed to the finish by Danny Snyder and Sean Merkel.

The biggest event of the season is set for Saturday, September 14th at 7 p.m. with the running of the 43rd annual BPG Racing Freedom 76 Modified Classic paying $25,000 to win. The Fan Jam offering fun for all takes place from 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Rain date is Saturday, September 21.