Area racing round-up

Photo by Rich Kepner
Trevor Kobarlaz wins his first Grandview ardc midget feature.
Photo by Rich Kepner Trevor Kobarlaz wins his first Grandview ardc midget feature.


Brian Montieth won the battle and Fred Rahmer won the war on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway as the pair ended up the big winners in the 410 sprint division with Montieth claiming the feature event and Rahmer earning his ninth track title by a mere five points. Montieth started the race in ninth spot. Eighth starter Logan Schuchart came on late for second, relegating Justin Barger to third at the finish.

Greg Hodnett crossed the line in fourth with Jacob Allen in fifth. Danny Dietrich was sixth with Fred Rahmer seventh, which was good enough to earn a ninth track crown albeit by the slimmest possible margin of five markers.

The balance of the top 10 went to Dave Ely, Lance Dewease and Pat Cannon. Kevin Nouse was declared the 2013 358 sprint track champion.

Feature Finish:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Logan Schuchart, 3. Justin Barger, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Jacob Allen, 6. Danny Dietrich, 7. Fred Rahmer, 8. Dave Ely, 9. Lance Dewease, 10. Pat Cannon, 11. Brent Marks, 12. Don Kreitz Jr., 13. Tim Glatfelter, 14. Davey Sammons, 15. Kyle Reinhardt, 16. Glenndon Forsythe, 17. Scott Wilson, 18. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 19. Adam Wilt, 20. Brock Zearfoss, 21. Rick Lafferty, 22. Steve Buckwalter, 23. Ryan Smith, 24. Jim Shuster


DNQ: Rodney Westhafer, Mark Zimmerman, Troy Fraker, Brad Howard, Matt Boland, Alan Krimes, Ryan Bohlke, Chad Layton

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Chase Dietz, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Brad McClelland, 4. Tyler Ross, 5. FredJason Shultz, 6. Austin Hogue, 7. Rich Eichelberger, 8. Nathan Berwager, 9. Brock Zearfoss, 10. Jay Galloway, 11. Dale Hammaker, 12. Adrian Shaffer, 13. Ryan Wilson, 14. Chandler Leiby, 15. Kody Lehman, 16. Brie Hershey, 17. Scott Fisher, 18. Matt Findley, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Mike Markey, 21. Brian Garland, 22. Zach Eucalano, 23. Shannon Fisher, 24. Matt Mountz


Fred Rahmer was honored on Sunday evening at Lincoln Speedway when they ran a special tribute race for him. The race, named The Last Call in recognition of Freds last sprint car race, paid 4,519 dollars.

The $519 was in recognition of his 519 racing victories. 99 of those victories were in a Modified Stock Car and the balance in Sprint car. Lincoln results were to late for press time. Lincoln was scheduled for Saturday but rain postponed it to Sunday


The ARDC Midgets 25-lap main event: PJ Gargiulo took immediate command of the lead at the drop of the green with Trevor Kobylarz and Steve Buckwalter threading their way through traffic. On lap ten, ARDCs point leader Trevor Kobylarz took the lead followed by Gargiulo and Jason Rice.

By lap 15, Buckwalter was racing in third with Kobylarz a full straight-away ahead. It looked like Kobylarz was a shoe in for the win until a caution flag was displayed with just five laps remaining.

On the restart, Kobylarz had a strong jump and moved away from runner-up Steve Buckwalter. With two laps remaining, Buckwalter caught Kobylarz and it was a run to the wire. Kobylarz took the win with Buckwalter second, PJ Gargiulo third as Nick Wean and Ryan Greth made up the top five.

In the 25-lap Sportsman feature, Steve Davis led the first seven laps with Jared Umbenhauer taking the lead on lap eight.

Kevin Beach, Brett Kressley and Craig Whitmoyer were all on a charge to the front along with Brian Hirthler. Umbenhauer maintained solid control of the top spot as Kressley and Beach battled for second. With the checker flag waiving, Umbenhauer took the win over Kressley, Beach, Brian Hirthler and Craig Whitmoyer.

SPORTSMAN FEATURE: #5 Jared Umbenhauer, #19K Brett Kressley, #17x Kevin Beach, #4* Brian Hirthler, #99 Craig Whitmoyer, # 65 Dean Bachman, #221 Ryan Beltz, #7 Kenny Gilmore, #542 Guy Germano, #9k Ron Krex, #88x Jason Neidlinger, #134 Mark Behm, #13 Steve Davis, #77H Jordan Henn, #97 Rick Hendricks, #77 Tom Miller, #5K Lex Shive, #573 Kevin Dries, #123 Kevin Brady.

ARDC MIDGET FEATURE: #1 Trevor Kobylarz, #0 Steven Buckwalter, #5 PJ Gargiulo, #78 Nick Wean, #33 Ryan Greth, #57 Jason Rice, #92 Brenden Bright, #33s Billy Pauch Jr.,#19 Steven Drevicki, #83 Bruce Buckwalter Jr., #46 Brett Arndt, #8 Kyle Lick, #50 Tony Dimattia, #44 Brett Wanner, #10 Mark Gilmore, #75 Bill Courtwright, #55 Steve Craig, #3 Joe Butera, #07 Jimmy Glenn, #28 Greg Fitzpatrick, #77 Alex Bright, #52 Tim Buckwalter.