The Berks-Mont News (

Area racing round-up

By Ken Johnson, For 21st Century Media

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Williams Grove and Big Diamond fell victim to the rain Friday night. Both tracks will resume next Friday


Shoemakersville’s Doug Manmiller and Jeff Strunk, Pottstown, two of the best talents in area 358 Modified racing, shared the victories in the Twin 20-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified features on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway claiming a $2250 payday which included the $250 bonus from T.P. Trailers, Limerick.

Randy Stoudt, Pottstown, tied Jon Kellner’s win record at 58 when he won the 25-lap NASCAR Late Model feature for new team owners Taylor White and Wendy Brown in his familiar No. 10. He picked up an additional $100 from T.P. Trailers. It was the first win for the veteran racer in a while having not been active at the Bechtelsville oval in 2013.

Defending NASCAR Sportsman point champion Jared Umbenhauer, Richalnd, took advantage of Craig Whitmoyer’s bad luck when Whitmoyer dropped out while leading the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature. Umbenhauer went on to win the event by a comfortable margin over runner up Ryan Beltz, in which he earned the T.P. Trailers $100 bonus along with the winner’s purse.

Regular Saturday night racing action returns to Grandview Speedway on Saturday, April 19th at 7 p.m. with the NASCAR 358 Modifieds in action along with the Sportsman and Late Model stocks. At least a dozen racing events are included.


1st 20-Lap Modified Feature – 1. Doug Manmiller, 2. Craig Von Dohren, 3. Jordan Umbenhauer, 4. Jeff Strunk, 5. Eric Biehn, 6. Mike Gular, 7. Duane Howard, 8. Kyle Follweiler, 9. Ray Swinehart, 10. John Willman, 11. Jon Kellner, 12. Frank Cozze, 13. Nate Christman, 14. Meme DeSantis, 15. Don Norris Jr., 16. Tommy Scheetz III, 17. Tim Buckwalter, 18. Terry Meitzler, 19. Kyle Weiss, 20. Chris Esposito, 21. Kevin Hirthler, 22. Justin Grim, 23. Kyle Borror, 24. Todd Smith, 25. Mike Kellner (provisional), 26. Ryan Kunkle, 27. Mike Laise, 28. Ron Seltmann Jr., 29. Ryan Grim.

Second 20-Lap Modified Feature – 1. Jeff Strunk, 2. Ray Swinehart, 3. Tommy Scheetz III, 4. Kyle Follweiler, 5. Frank Cozze, 6. Duane Howard, 7. Mike Gular, 8. Eric Biehn, 9. Kyle Weiss, 10. Terry Meitzler, 11. Craig Von Dohren, 12. Nate Christman, 13. Justin Grim, 14. Meme DeSantis, 15. Kevin Hirthler, 16. Todd Smith, 17. Ryan Kunkle, 18. Don Norris Jr., 19. Jordan Umbenhauer, 20. Jon Kellner, 21. John Willman, 22. Kyle Borror, 23. Mike Laise, 24. Tim Buckwalter, 25. Doug Manmiller, 26. Mike Kellner, 27. Chris Esposito, 28. Ryan Grim, 29. Ron Seltmann Jr. DNQ: Brad Arnold, Andy Ressler, Bobby Gunther-Walsh, Chris Gambler, Brian Houseknecht.

25-Lap Late Model Feature – 1. Randy Stoudt, 2. Chuck Schutz, 3. Kory Fleming, 4. Dan Green, 5. Lou Egrie, 6. Jason Miller, 7. Rick Todorow, 8. Dirk Rimrott, 9. Steve Butler, 10. John Giesler, 11. Dave Ogin, 12. Joe Fanelli, 13. Bryon Sipe, 14. Cory Merkel, 15. Bill Henning, 16. George Irwin, 17. Buddy Mertz, 18. Sam Schlosberg, 19. Lou Egrie Jr. DNS: Steve Wilson and Wayne Pfeil.

25-Lap Sportsman Feature: 1. Jared Umbenhauer, 2. Ryan Beltz, 3. Joe Funk II, 4. Brian Hirthler, 5. Jordan Henn, 6. Jim Housworth, 7. Dean Bachman, 8. Kaitie McCardle, 9. Erik Renninger, 10. Brandon Whitmoyer, 11. Ron Krex, 12. Brett Kressley, 13. Mike Stringer, 14. Ryan Lilick, 15. Ken Eckert Jr., 16. Dave Bartram, 17. Tom Miller, 18. Jamie Undercoffler, 19. Craig Whitmoyer, 20. Brad Brightbill, 21. Jason Neidlinger, 22. Kenny Gilmore, 23. Lex Shive, 24. Guy Germano, 25. Steve Warner.


He gone! That’s the catch phrase Alan Krimes and his followers use when Alan Krimes starts putting his competitors behind him. And he did it short order in Saturday’s 25-lap 410 sprint car feature. “I have to thank Dennis Kohler,” said Krimes upon exiting his Krimes Racing Engines #87 in victory lane, “He changed everything but the driver there before the feature, and he must have found something.” Robbie Kendall finished second behind Krimes, who crossed 1.34 second in front for his 14th career Lincoln win. In doing so, he became the fourth winner in as many races in 2014. Danny Dietrich came from tenth starting spot to catch last week’s feature winner Jimmy Siegel for third with a lap to go. Siegel, who started 12th, settled for fourth, with Kevin Nagy fifth. Sixth through tenth were hard charger Cory Hass (who started 15th), Glenndon Forsythe, Lance Dewease, Tyler Ross, and Adam Wilt. Carmen Perigo, Jr. dominated the 25-lap super sportsman feature, starting third and leading every lap, to score his fifth career Lincoln win. Defending tour champ Frankie Herr was involved in a multi-car crash in turns three and four of lap three to end his night. Dover’s Gene Knaub drove away from the field to score his 15th career win in the 20-lap 358 late model feature. Knaub started fourth and took the lead from polesitter Travis Mease on lap four. He led the rest of the way, with outside front row starter Tyler Horst crossing second. Third through fifth were hard charger Kyle Lear (who started ninth), Mease, and Alan Sagi.


Rick Lafferty, 410 sprints; Nick Dickson, super late models; scored the main events at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday. Lafferty scored his 10th career 410 sprint feature at the track after taking over from Brent Marks on the eighth tour. Lynton Jeffrey finished a solid second followed by Mike Wagner, Dave Ely and Curt Michael.

Sixth through 10th went to Chad Layton, 20th starter Greg Hodnett, Mike Erdley, Doug Esh and 22nd starter Danny Holtgraver.

Nick Dickson took the Jakes Carts super late model main after wrestling the lead away from Eric Zembower. Andy Haus,Hamburg, who took third with seven laps to go was third. Matt Parks was fourth Waylon Wagner was fifth. Hamburg’s Scott Haus was 10th.


TJ Stutts of Liverpool held off numerous challenges to score the 30-lap Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprint (ESS) season opener for 360 sprint cars

Stutts, who has won three of the last four ESS-sanctioned races at Selinsgrove, collected $3,000 for his 18th career victory at the track in 358-360 sprint car competition driving the No. 23.

Defending champion Jeff Rine of Danville wired the field for his 86th career feature win at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap Super late model season opener.


On Sunday, May 4th, the EMMR will present the Gary Wolford Fish Fry and the annual “Blindfold Race” which features drivers from local tracks, Past and present. This year’s lineup includes Scott and Andy Haus, Hamburg. Doug Manmiller, Shoemakersville from the local area. Also racing will be Johnny Murphy and Kenny Riland, former Silver Spring drivers, Lance Dewease and Gerald Chamberlain, Williams Grove and Reading Fairgrounds champions and Chad Layton with Barry Camp, both champions at Selinsgrove and Port Royal