The Berks-Mont News (

Area racing round-up

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Big Diamond Speedway

Jeff Strunk was the winner in Friday evenings Modified feature at Big Diamond Speedway with Ray Swinhart coming home second. Kevin Smith was third followed by Duane Howard and Points Leader Rick Laubach fifth. Sean Merkel won the 20 lap Late Model feature over Billy Wampler, Ben Whitaker, Scott Haus and Andy Haus.

Williams Grove Speedway

Donnie Kreitz turned in a finish for the 410 sprint ages Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, staging an eye-opening run for victory that saw him erase a more than seven-second lead by Brian Montieth to nip him by .010 seconds at the finish line.

Including bonus and lap monies, Kreitz pocketed well over $4,500 for the regular, 25-lap win, which was the 59th of his Williams Grove career.

Aaron Ott was the winner of the 25-lap URC sprint main, taking over $2,000 for his convincing victory.

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Don Kreitz Jr., 2. Brian Montieth, 3. Steve Buckwalter, 4. Cory Haas, 5. Justin Barger, 6. Ryan Smith, 7. Greg Hodnett, 8. Rick Lafferty, 9. Lance Dewease, 10. Doug Esh, 11. Danny Dietrich, 12. Blane Heimbach, 13. Austin Hogue, 14. Ryan Wilson, 15. Ryan Taylor, 16. Pat Cannon, 17. Troy Fraker, 18. Brent Marks, 19. Rodney Westhafer, 20. Glenndon Forsythe, 21. Nicole Bower, 22. Alan Krimes, 23. Scott Wilson, 24. Gerard McIntyre J r.

URC sprints, 25 laps: 1. Aaron Ott, 2. Mark Smith, 3. Robbie Stillwaggon, 4. Howie Locke, 5. Curt Michael, 6. Josh Weller, 7. Glenndon Forsythe, 8. Brock Zearfoss, 9. Davie Franek, 10. Cody Lehman, 11. Kyle Purks, 12. Ed Aiken, 13. Chandler Leiby, 14. Jimmy Stitzel, 15. Andy Best, 16. Jordan Givler, 17. Jordan Thomas, 18. Randy West, 19. Chad Trout, 20. Jason Clause, 21. Jay Galloway, 22. Brian Carber, 23. Nate Snyder, 24. Jonathan Swanson

Grandview Speedway

Defending NASCAR 358 champion Craig VonDohren held off the challengers to win his second 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. The win came during T.P. Trailers Night with the Oley-based seven-time champion earning $2,900 for his efforts including $250 bonus bucks from T.P.Trailers and $150 worth of racing gasoline from VP Racing Fuels.

In the 25-lap NASCAR Late Model feature, Ron Kline, who appeared to be on his way to his first win of the season the previous week until he ran over a muffler on the track and punctured his tire which eventually caused him to spin, led from start to finish to “finally get the monkey off his back,” and pick up the win. The Salford, PA racer also received $100 from T.P. Trailers plus an additional $100 from J & H Automotive owner Harry Gallagher.

For the second week in a row Jared Umbenhauer, who calls Richland home, won the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature for his fifth win of the year and received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

Modified Feature (30-Laps): 1. Craig Von Dohren, 2. Meme DeSantis, 3. Jeff Strunk, 4. Doug Manmiller, 5. Frank Cozze, 6. Ryan Grim, 7. Brad Arnold, 8. Eric Biehn, 9. John Willman, 10. Ray Swinehart,

Late Model Feature (25-Laps): 1. Ron Kline, 2. Dan Green, 3. Randy Stoudt, 4. Cory Merkel, 5. Chuck Schutz, 6. Wayne Pfeil, 7. Rick Todorow, 8. Kory Fleming, 9. Sean Merkel, 10. Sam Schlosberg,

Sportsman Feature (25-Laps): 1. Jared Umbenhauer, 2. Mike Lisowski, 3. Kenny Gilmore, 4. Brett Kressley, 5. Brian Hirthler, 6. Ken Eckert, 7. Guy Germano, 8. Jamie Undercoffler, 9. Jordan Henn, 10. Chris Jenkins,

Lincoln Speedway

“Is this for real?” So asked J.J. Grasso after holding off Danny Dietrich and then points leader Alan Krimes to claim his first career Lincoln Speedway 410 sprint car feature win in the Annual Daryl Gohn/Glenn Gohn, Sr. Memorial Saturday night. Grasso’s final margin of victory was 1.94 seconds, and his total winnings (counting Gohn family and sponsor contingency prizes) was $4,600. Alan Krimes held onto the Lincoln points lead with his second-place finish, followed by Danny Dietrich (who finished with a damaged front wing), Cory Haas, and Steve Owings. Sixth through tenth were 11th-starting Brian Montieth, 13th-starting Lance Dewease, Ryan Smith, Jim Siegel, and Gerard McIntyre, Jr.

In the 358 sprint division, Chase Dietz started the night off by scoring his second career win in the make-up feature from May 24th. Mike Bittinger held off Jeff Rohrbaugh and C.J. Tracey to win the regularly-scheduled event.

Selinsgrove Speedway

Aaron Ott of East Berlin chased down Davie Franek of Wantage,

N.J., in the first half of Saturday night’s 34th running of the Jack Gunn Memorial for 360 sprint cars before securing the lead and rocketing to his first career win at the historic Snyder County half-mile oval. Ott earned $3,500 for his victory in the 30-lap United Racing Company-sanctioned tribute race to the late Hall of Fame promoter Jack Gunn at the wheel of the Don Ott Racing Engines No. 25. Ott, who also won the URC 360 sprint car race Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, became the fourth different 360 sprint car feature winner this season at Selinsgrove.

Tim Wilson of Port Royal also earned his first career win at the track in the 25-lap super late model feature. Wilson became the division’s sixth different winner in seven races this season. Hamburg’s Andy Haus won his heat and was advancing fine till a wreck in front of him, sidelined the Haus team for the night.

30-Lap Jack Gunn Memorial: 1) 25 Aaron Ott 2) 23 TJ Stutts 3) 1 Mark Smith 4) 27 Greg Hodnett 5) 3 Pat Cannon 6) 28F Davie Franek 7) 77 Derek Locke 8) 5G Curt Michael 9) 1W Brock Zearfoss 10) 25 Josh Weller

Late Models – 24 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 3 Tim Wilson 2) 6 Donnie Schick 3) 2J Jeff Rine 4) 99Z Dave Zona 5) 119B Bryan Bernheisel

Williams Grove (Saturday Series)

Bobby Hockenberry started on the pole and led every lap to capture the Super Sportsman main event.Duaine Smith, Jay Fannasy, Steve Wilbur and defending track champion Frankie Herr completed the top five.Randy Croop won the 20-lap Late Model feature. Jared Miller, Les Hare, Cam Zeigler and Sam Rial completed the top five.

Port Royal Speedway

Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, took the $6,000 USAC Eastern Storm sprint car feature event at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, putting on an exciting show for the fans for his first ever oval victory. For Bacon, aboard the Hoffman Racing No. 69, the victory helped widen his advantage in the Eastern Storm series that concludes on Sunday night.

The 20-lap ARDC Midget feature went to Steve Drevicki, Reading, in a flag to flag performance.

USAC sprints, 30 laps: 1. Brady Bacon, 2. Kevin Thomas Jr., 3. Jon Stanbrough, 4. Robert Ballou, 5. Dave Darlan, 6. Chase Stockon, 7. Justin Grant, 8. Bryan Clauson, 9. Shane Cockrum, 10. Hunter Schuerenberg, 11. Chris Windom, 12. CJ Leary, 13. Chad Boespflug, 14. Jarett Andretti, 15. Dalten Gabbard, 16. Mark Bitner, 17. Trevor Kobylarz, 18. Joey Biasi, 19. Daron Clayton, 20. Curt Stroup, 21. Billy Pauch Jr., 22. Brian Ehrenzeller, 23. Tracy Hines

ARDC Midgets, 20 laps: 1. Steve Drevicki, 2. Steve Buckwalter, 3. Tim Buckwalter, 4. Brenden Bright, 5. Bruce Buckwalter Jr., 6. Trevor Kobylarz, 7. Tony Dimattea, 8. Nick Wean, 9. Brett Arndt, 10. Kyle Lick, 11. Jim Radney, 12. Brian Gilmore, 13. Tommy Kunsman, 14. Greg Fitzpatrick, 15. Austin Burke, 16. Brett Wanner, 17. John Barnett, 18. Ryan Greth