The Pottstown School District Music Department recently brought their award winning talents to the Capitol in Harrisburg.

Students from both middle and high school music departments were accompanied by Mr. Ben Hayes and Ms. Nancy Mest as they performed in the Rotunda of the state capitol building as part of the Music In Our Schools Month program sponsored by the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association.

The middle school ensembles performing included brass, clarinet, and flute. They were accompanied by the high school flute and clarinet ensembles.

The brass ensemble received a very warm round of applause in appreciation of performing their version of 'Steal Away' and 'Amazing Grace.' Director Ben Hayes said, 'This is a tremendous opportunity for our students to perform in such a prestigious venue as the state capitol Rotunda. Our students are experiencing a once in a lifetime opportunity that they will remember for the rest of their lives.'

As an added treat, State Senator Robert Mensch visited with the groups and talked to them about the value of music in our schools and related to them his involvement in music as a high school student. He emphasized that many of the habits which he developed as a band member have proved to be valuable to him in his adult life.

After the performance, students had an opportunity to tour the capitol building and learn about its history and the workings of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of our state government. 'Today our students not only demonstrated their musical skills but had the opportunity to learn firsthand how our state government operates. It is a learning experience that cannot be duplicated in the classroom,' said Director Nancy Mest.

Students participating in the performances included:

Pottstown High School Clarinet and Flute Ensemble Members:

Emily Griffin, Maxine Bacon, Claudia La, Ziarra Caballero, Jenna Endy, Jada Burton, Emily Greiss, Chapel Renish, Veronika Pagan, Sara Dudley, Tatiana Robinson, Katie Kolbmann, Marlee DeBlase, Nicolas Muriel, Casey Mest, Alysha Soto, Alivia Lopez, and Rachael Levengood

Pottstown Middle School Brass, Clarinet, and Flute Ensemble Members:

Andraya Guy, Emilie Lineman, Rashell Williams, Taylor Sundstrom, Amanda Endy, Shelby Sabold, Alondra Magana, Amber Cassel, Emma Pargeon, Johnay Cranford, Reilly Owens, Carrie Stauffer, Mitchell Aquino, Nick Wilson, Will Minnick, Jonathon Brusk, Keirsten Haverly, AJ Ecker, Madison Overholt, Julian Weber, Caitlin McLaughlin, Manny Paez, Ross Mather, Madeline Engleman, and Emily Weber

For performance footage go to

From Pottstown School District

comments powered by Disqus