Exeter School District welcomed four new members to its Academic Hall of Fame during a ceremony Saturday, Nov. 9, at Exeter High School.

The ceremony was followed by the induction of 75 Exeter students into the Claude W. Dundore Chapter of the National Honor Society.

A reception was held after the inductions.

The district's Hall of Fame was started in 2005 as a project of the Exeter Community Education Foundation. Typically, four to six inductees are selected each year. This year's inductees bring the total number of honorees to 66.

The four new members were presented with plaques. Their names will be added to the honor roll displayed in the high school's main office.

This year's honorees are:

Dr. Stacey M. Kassutto, who graduated as valedictorian in 2002. She earned her bachelor's degree summa cum laude in chemistry and music at Franklin & Marshall College, where she was the Williamson Medalist in 2006. She completed medical school, an internal medicine residency and a fellowship in pulmonary and critical care at the University of Pennsylvania, where she is now a member of the medical faculty.

Kenneth P. Levan, a 1963 graduate. He taught English and journalism at Daniel Boone High School for 36 years. Levan served on the Exeter School Board for 12 years, the last eight as president, and was president of the Exeter Community Education Foundation for its first 12 years.

Tanya H. Morret, 1987 graduate. Morret taught middle school social studies and gifted classes before pursuing a doctorate in curriculum and instruction. She consults with districts across Pennsylvania for school improvement and gifted education.

Edrie J. Watson, who began her career with the school district by teaching sixth grade at Jacksonwald Elementary School. Watson earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Shippensburg State College and a master's degree in music from Penn State University. She taught sixth grade at the former M. Luther Lausch Elementary School for 25 years before retiring from a 32-year career in 1992.

comments powered by Disqus