The NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series returned to action at the Grandview Speedway on Tuesday night, Aguust 12, with the popular Grandview THUNDER 5-25's.This five division, five feature show saw Craig VonDohren win the 358 Modified feature as Mark Bitner won the URC feature, Josh Morrow was the winner of the Rolling Thunder Legends main event, Jamie Kostic won the 600cc sprint feature with Dillon Stein winning the 600cc Modified feature.

In total, 115 race cars took part in the five feature program in chase of a $30,000 purse. The show started promptly at 7:30 p.m. and was completed just before 10:30 p.m.

In the 25 lap Modified feature, Jason Hamilton was the early race leader, holding off Terry Meitzler.

Craig VonDohren of Oley moved into third on lap three and began to chase down the leaders. On lap six, Meitzler moved into the lead position and held the top spot until lap thirteen when VonDohren took the lead.

VonDohren took the win followed by Terry Meitzler, Kerry Kratz, Kevin Hirthler and Duane Howard made up the top five.

At the drop of the green flag for the 25-lap feature, twenty URC sprints charged into turn one and before the first lap was completed, the red was displayed when Gary Gollub flipped in turn one. Gollub was not injured, but his car was badly damaged and unable to compete. On the restart, Boyertown's Jason Clauss took the lead followed by Kramer Williamson and Mark Bitner.

Once again the red flag was displayed, this time for Danny Massey who took a violent flip in turn two on lap three. Massey was taken to the hospital for a check-up but at the time of this writing, we had no further updates.

Dave Ely was in a tangle with another car at the same time of the Massey crash and the familiar #75 went pit side. Ely restarted the race in last. But this was not last we were going to hear from Ely.

When green flag racing resumed, Jason Clauss was setting the pace with Kramer Williamson in second and Mark Bitner third.

On the restart, Bitner challenged Clauss and became the new leader as Ed Aikin followed in third. Michael Carber who started in the fifteenth spot was racing in fourth on lap twelve followed by Davey Sammons. Also on a charge was the BPG sprinter of Chris Coyle who moved into fourth on lap 17.

With just five laps remaining, Biter was the pace-setter over Jason Clauss, Chris Coyle, Michael Carber and Ed Aikin. In the closing laps, Coyle caught Clauss and they both began to close in on the leader.

Bitner took the win followed by Jason Clauss, Chris Coyle, Michael Carber and fifth went to Dave Ely who went to the rear of the 20-car field and rebounded to finish fifth.

Late in the race, Doug Manmiller made a charge to third but ran short of time to challenge for the win. With the checker flag waiving, Josh Morrow took the win over Jason Rochelle, Doug Manmiller, Pat McDermott and Rodney Kistler.

Also on the program were the 600cc Sprint cars. In their 25 lap test, Jamie Kostic set their pace for the entire twenty-five laps. Shaun Brandel was in the runner-up spot through lap five with Bob Devault in third. Devault moved into second on lap six and went to work on chasing down the leader. Kostic ran a flawless race maintaining a comfortable lead and taking the victory with Devault second, Shaun Brandel third, Tom Kohler fourth and Doug Manmiller fifth.

In the 600cc Modifieds, Mark Schaffer gunned into the early lead of the 25-lap feature. By lap four, Eric Whitbe took the top spot.

Whitbe continued to lead with Schaffer in the chase. Also on the move was Dillon Stein who was racing in third on lap seven. As the field passed on lap 15, Stein was in second. With just two laps to go Stein took the lead and ran to hide for the final two laps. Doug Manmiller finished second followed by Eric Whitbe, Butch Getz and Ryan Higgs.

Doug Manmiller managed to compete in four of the five features on Tuesday night. In the Legends Car feature, Manmiller finished third, in the 600 Modifieds he rallied home in second place and in the 600cc Sprints, Manmiller finished fifth. Manmiller also competed in the 25 lap 358 Modified feature where he finished thirteenth.

comments powered by Disqus