Hamburg School Board

Hamburg Area School Directors pictured back left to right: Maggie Rhoades, Todd Hummel, Lolly Lesher, Cory Johnson, Brian Riegel and Bradley Faust. Front left to right: Russell Farbiarz, solicitor; Dr. Richard Mextorf, superintendent; Brian Specht, president; Cindy Sunday, secretary; Andrew Raugh, vice-president; and Leon Grim.

Hamburg Area School Directors held their yearly reorganization meeting on Dec. 3.

Brian Specht and Andrew Raugh were re-elected as president and vice-president, respectively, for the fourth straight year.

Specht has served as a school director for 17 years and Raugh has served for nine years.

The law firm of Antanavage Farbiarz, PLLC was approved as solicitor for the 2019 year. Russell Farbiarz will serve as chief counsel. A retainer of $6,000 was approved and reflects an increase of $225 from 2018. The firm has been the school district's solicitor since the 1980's, according to Farbiarz.

Committee appointments for 2019 were also approved.

Berks E.I.T. Committee, Michele Zimmerman, business manager, and Raugh; Joint Operating Committee, Raugh and Lolly Lesher (alternate); Committee on Legislative Action, Cory Johnson and Todd Hummel (alternate); BCTC Authority, David Fisher.

Other appointments include: Intermediate Board, Specht; Fine Arts Hall of Fame, Brian Riegel and Leon Grim; Wellness Committee, John son and Grim; Academic Hall of Fame, Grim and Bradley Faust.

The Building Committee consists of Riegel (chairman), Hummel, Maggie Rhoades and Grim.

The Hamburg Area school district consists of three regions. Region 1 (Hamburg Borough) is represented by Hummel, Johnson and Riegel. Region 2 includes Shoemakersville borough and Perry and Windsor Townships and is represented by Specht, Raugh and Rhoades. Region 3 includes the townships of Tilden, Upper Bern and Upper Tulpehocken and Strausstown borough. Lesher, Grim and Faust represent Region 3.

In others news, school directors approved a heating, ventilation and air conditioning project for the high school. The estimated cost of the project is $1,455,300 and will begin at the end of the school year. The system was last upgraded on 2001.

The next meeting of school directors is Monday, Dec. 17 at 6:30 p.m. in the James A. Gilmartin Community Room.

comments powered by Disqus