Vote Button

Republicans triumphed Tuesday, Nov. 5, in 11 of the 15 contested races for township leadership in Berks County.

Some upsets were inevitable as voters in the county's second class townships selected supervisors for six-year terms.

In Exeter Township, incumbent Vincent Biancone, a Democrat, fell to Republican challengers Michelle P. Kircher and Joseph R. Staub in the race for two township supervisors seats with six-year terms each.

In Bern Township, incumbent James H. Dailey, 67, an independent, was ousted by challengers Brian Eveland, 48, an Exeter Township police officer, and Daniel W. Tobias, 65, retired.

In South Heidelberg Township, three-term incumbent David A. Schaeffer, a Democrat, failed to win either a four-year or a six-year term on the three-member board of supervisors.

All results are unofficial.

Exeter Township

Staub, 58, came in first easily, beating Biancone by more than 1,000 votes and nearly 1,600 votes ahead of Kircher in a bid for township supervisor.

Staub has been an outspoken supporter of continuing township ownership of the Reading Country Club.

"This can and will be a viable business venture once township administration embraces, markets and supports the Reading Country Club," he said in response to the Reading Eagle's question to candidates concerning the future role of the golf course and restaurant and banquet facilities in the township.

Staub has said he is open to seeing a third party supporting and running the club, but does not want to see the property sold for pennies on the dollar, leaving township residents still servicing the debt for years to come.

A mortgage company sales manager, Staub holds a degree in business management from York College and an MBA from Saint Joseph's University. He previously served on the Exeter School Board from 2009 to 2015.

Kircher, an executive assistant and former Exeter supervisor, served two nonconsecutive six-year terms from 1996 to 2002 and again from 2006 to 2012.

She has advocated greater administrative disclosure and public input in township management.

Biancone, 47, was appointed in July 2018 to fill the vacancy left when William “Chip” White resigned.

His term expires at the end of the year.

Retired school principal Gregory Galtere, a Democrat, narrowly beat Republican Jeff Anderton in a tight race to fill the remaining two years on the seat left vacant when Lisa VanderLaan resigned in April.

Anderton and Galtere were nominated by their respective parties and did not appear on the primary ballot.

Anderton, an incumbent, was appointed in April to fill the vacancy left when Robin Dutcher resigned in March. That term will expire at the end of the year.

Six-year term

(Top two elected)

Staub: 3,926

Kircher: 2,847

Biancone: 2,345

Two-year term

(Top finisher elected)

Galtere: 2,633

Anderton: 2,554

Bern Township

Three candidates ran for two six-year terms on Bern Township's five-member Board of Supervisors.

Eveland: 1,039

Tobias: 906

Dailey: 526

Caernarvon Township

Republican incumbents Paul Whiteman Jr. and Sandra L. Styer topped challenger Liza Grundy, a Democrat in a race for two seats on the five-member board of supervisors.

Whiteman, 45, a project manager with Joseph W. Davis Paving and Excavating, has been vice chairman of the board for the past six years. He also is road master, emergency management coordinator and Morgantown Carnival Committee chairman for the township.

Styer, 49, is an insurance agent and notary public.

Whiteman: 565

Styer: 494

Grundy: 400

Centre Township

Republican Kevin Noecker crushed independent James A. Fitterling in a race for a single seat on the three-member Centre Township Board of Supervisors.

Noecker, 55, is owner of Noecker's Garage, Centre Township, and a state constable.

Noecker: 651

Fitterling: 248


Democrat Ruth O'Leary beat Republican Sam Kalbach in the race for a single seat on the township board of commissioners with a four-year term.

O'Leary: 2,637

Kalbach: 2,005

Earl Township

Republican Robert J. Caso narrowly beat Democrat Brian C. Filby in a close race for a four-year term on the board of supervisors.

Caso: 369

Filby: 343

Longswamp Township

Republican Donald Hickman beat Democrat Mark Story in a race for a six-year term as township supervisor. Supervisor Joyce Marin, who sought the GOP nomination for county commissioner, did not seek reelection.

Hickman: 483

Story: 294

Maidencreek Township

Republican David K. Franke beat Democrat Francis A. Scott in the race for a single open seat on the Maidencreek Township Board of Supervisors with a six-year term. Both were vying to replace Joseph Rudderow, a two-term supervisor first elected to the board in 2007, who declined to seek reelection earlier this year.

Franke, 61, is a driver safety evaluator and retired police chief.

Franke: 1,035

Scott: 721

Marion Township

Irene Sileski, a Democrat, topped incumbent Franklin M. Troutman, a Republican in the race for a six-year seat on the three-member Marion Township Board of Supervisors.

Sileski, 42, is a physician assistant/attorney

Troutman, 73, a retired dairy farmer is serving a six-year term that will end December 31.

Sileski: 254

Troutman: 192

Muhlenberg Township

Four candidates vied for three seats on the township board of commissioners with four-year terms each.

Michael Malinowski: 3,006

Derek Lupia: 2,134

Steven P. Wolfinger: 2,101

Jeffrey Reitnauer: 1,689

Richmond Township

Republican Brian Wanner beat Democrat Dean Warmkessel in a bid for a six-year term as township supervisor.

Wanner: 380

Warmkessel: 317

South Heidelberg Township

Three-term incumbent David A. Schaeffer, a Democrat, was ousted in races to fill two seats, a four-year and a six-year term, on the three-member South Heidelberg Township Board of Supervisors.

Republican Tiffany Billingsley, 35, a real estate agent and investor beat Schaeffer in the race for the six-year term.

Incumbent John N. Musante Jr., 78, a Republican, won his bid for the four-year term. Musante previously served as supervisor 1980 to 1987 and has served on the township's Municipal Authority Board since 1994, the last 20 years as chairman. He was appointed to serve again as supervisor in September 2018.

Schaeffer 57, a self-employed farmer, was previously elected to six-year terms in 2013, 2007 and 2001.

Six-year Term

Billingsley: 1,001

Schaeffer: 680

Four-year Term

Musante: 988

Schaeffer: 646

Spring Township

Democrat Mike Kocher, 37, a software developer, crushed fellow Democrat Kelly McDonough, who narrowly lost to Republican Patti Smith in a race for two open seats on the Spring Township board of supervisors.

Kocher: 4,170

Smith: 2,771

McDonough: 2,633

Union Township

Republicans Isaac J. Jones and Andrew Basile beat incumbent L. Terry Kennedy and Anthony Bohara, both Democrats, in the race for two seats on the Union Township Board of Supervisors with six-year terms.

Jones: 524

Basile: 519

Kennedy: 311

Bohara: 306

Washington Township

Voters in Washington Township selected incumbent David D. Moyer, a Republican, over Democratic challenger Jayme Benfield in the race for a six-year term on the township's three-member board of supervisors.

Moyer, 56, an equipment operator, currently serves as chairman of the board of supervisors

Moyer: 649

Benfield: 394

comments powered by Disqus