Big Diamond Racing Roundup

Photo By Rich Kepner Dale Hartz #15, of Hamburg, races with Craig Von Dohren and Jeff Strunk at Big Diamond Raceway on the evening of July 6.

The 2012 Georgie Stevenson Memorial is on the books with drivers, Dan Hineline and Rick Laubach each picking up a feature win in the Twin 20's format for this year's event. 2011 Rookie of the Year, Charles Webber went to Victory Lane for the second time this season in the Sportsman feature.

Dan Hineline, the driver from Lake Ariel, PA outgunned John Willman at the start of the first twenty lap event. After several attempts to get the race underway, Hineline led the twenty lap distance and went on to take his first Big Diamond feature win unchallenged. Willman completed the distance to finish second while Keith Hoffman, the winner of the 2009 Stevenson Memorail finished third. Andy Burkhart completed a strong run to finish fourth ahead of the hardcharging, Neal Williams.

The field was handicapped for the second twenty lap feature event as polesitter, Mike Mammana quickly moved into the lead at the drop of the green. Mammana held off the challenges of Ray Swinehart through multiple double file restarts for thirteen laps. When the caution flew on lap fourteen, Mammana and Laubach shared the front row on the restart. Laubach took the lead on the restart but another caution flag - this time for Meme DeSantis in turn three - gave Mammana another chance. When the green flag waved, Laubach shot into the lead as Mammana now had his hands full with a hard charging Duane Howard. Laubach pulled away as Mammana held off the challenges of Howard for the final six laps. Laubach took his second Big Diamond win of the season followed by Mammana, Howard, Swinehart and Hoffman.

Andy Cozze led the twenty lap Sportsman feature for eleven laps with Charles Webber as his challenger. On lap eight, Cozze, driving a second Ray Woodall #72, got turned around in turn two and Charles Webber, the racing Pottsville Police Officer was abel to win the sportsman feature ahead of Kevin Beach, Jr., Wayne Witmer, Jared Umbenhauer and Brad Brightbill.

PORT ROYAL LATE MODELS Jim Yoder started on the pole of the late model main alongside his son Dylan and led all 20 circuits of the feature over Tim Wilson for the victory. Mike Lupfer, who started deep in the field in the 13th spot rallied throughout the event to pick off enough cars and race into third at the finish,Dylan Yoder ended up fourth followed by Brett Schadel. Andy Haus was sixthHeats for the 25-car field went to JimYoder, Andy Haus and Scott

Flickinger. LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Hanover's Cris Eash drove around Keith Prutzman on a fourth-lap restart and moved alongside Doug Esh for second on the all-time win list in Saturday's '358' sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway. Esh crossed 1.73 seconds ahead of second-place Dale Hammaker, who was originally scored third in a tight finish with eighth-starting Austin Hogue. But a post-race video review showed Hammaker crossed second, with Austin Hogue third. Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. and Keith Prutzman completed the top five. McSherrystown's Bobby Beard scored his second win in in the '358' late model Williams Grove/Trail-Way/Lincoln'Shootout' finale.

GRANDVIEW SPEEDWAY Rain and Lightning forced Grandview to cancel

BIG DIAMOND MODIFIED POINTS Pos. Car # Driver Total Points

1 1c Craig Von Dohren 2755 2 4 Duane Howard 2659

3 7 Rick Laubach 2611 4 88d Meme Desantis 2493

5 3a Kevin Albert Jr. 2459 6 357 Jeff Strunk 2351

7 6 Keith Hoffman 2267 8 44 Gary Hager 2196

9 T102 Doug Manmiller 2192 10 33 Ray Swinehart 2167

comments powered by Disqus