Ken Johnson's Racing Roundup

BIG DIAMOND RACEWAY No races, rained out

BEDFORD SPEEDWAY Racing was the Friday night main attraction at the 139th Bedford Fair. Every Bedford racer puts forth extra effort to do well at the fair in front of the largest crowd of the year and the Fair atmosphere. Jeff Rine brought his A game as he guided Bob Elbins to a dominating win in the Late Model event. It was Rine's second Bedford win of the season

Andy Haus, of Hamburg was 6th. Sammy Schaeffer, also from Hamburg was 17th

TRAILWAY SPEEDWAY J.B. Cunningham won the 358 sprint car race at Trail-Way Speedway.

Mike Bittinger was second followed by Shane Hoff, Kyle Moody and Austin Hogue Rounding out the top ten were Joe Trone, Jr., Tim Wagaman, Brad McClelland, Keith Prutzman, and Wes Irwin.

WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY Greg Hodnett won his third 410 sprint car feature of the season Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, capping off an impressive drive to the win with an equally impressive winner's take of nearly $5,000 for the regular 25-lap race.

Brian Montieth was second with Doug Esh third followed by Davey Sammons and Danny Dietrich.

Sixth through 10th went to Daryn Pittman, Buckwalter, Lance Dewease, Rick Lafferty and Don Kreitz Jr.

In the 358 sprint main, Mark Smith made a triumphant run from the rear after being involved in a crash at the start to win the first Williams Grove 358 sprint race of his career.


Frankie Herr won the 25 lap Super Sportsman race at Williams Grove Saturday evening over Scott Geasey, Dave Berkheimer, Carmom Perigo and Mike Enders. In the 358 Late Model feature , Travis Meese won over Bobby Beard, Wes Alleman, Gene Knaub and Jarred Miller

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Danny Dietrich found himself the leader when cars running first through third crashed together on lap 20, then held offthe challenges of Gerard McIntyre, Jr. to score his sixth Lincoln win of the year in the 25-lap '410' sprint car feature Saturday night.

Robbie Kendall flipped in turn four, and Brian Montieth,the leader, hit the brakes to avoid the crash. Montieth collected second-place Alan Krimes and third-place Aaron Ott, handing the lead to Dietrich for the restart.

Dietrich drove to his 13th career Lincoln win, with GeraRd McIntyre

settling for second, 11th-starting Adam Wilt third, Brian Leppo fourth, and Cory Haas fifth. Completing the top ten were Jim Siegel, 16th-starting Brent Marks, 12th-starting Brad McClelland, 22nd-starting Johnny Mackison, Jr.,and Ryan Bohlke.

Niki Young became the first repeat winner of the year in the 20-lap '358'sprint car feature.

PORT ROYAL SPEEDWAY What was arguably the two best races of the season were staged Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway as Greg Hodnett scored his seventh 410 sprint victory of the season from deep in the pack while Scott Haus picked up his second of the year in late models.

Thanks to an increased purse in effect because of a 30-car field Hodnett took $3,200 for the base victory pay but he also claimed a $300 bonus for winning from the sixth row.

In doing so, the Thomasville speedster became the first driver to claim the regular show bonus money for winning from the sixth row or further back since the bonus package was put into effect at the track last April.

Fred Rahmer rode home second followed by Mike Erdley, 18th starter Blane Heimbach and Keith Kauffman. Sixth through 10th went to Doug Esh, Mike Wagner, Davey Sammons, Jordan Frontz and Steve Buckwalter.

Scott Haus picked up the late model main after winning a nail-biter over eighth starter Mike Lupfer. Lupfer came up the loser in the late model battle royale at the finish when Haus crossed the stripe first for his 95th career victory at Port Royal.

Haus lauded track officials for a three-groove racing surface the produced the exciting action. Tim Wilson rode home third followed by Jeff Miller and Chris Casner.

Andy Haus finished 17th after suffering a flat tire.

GRANDVIEW SPEEDWAY Monsoon type rains, the type that sent Noah scurrying off to build the ark, forced promoter Bruce Rogers to cancel the Saturday night racing action at Grandview Speedway.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY Colby Womer of Mt. Pleasant Mills and Pat Cannon of Etters each took a win in one of the two 25-lap 358 sprint car features Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway .

comments powered by Disqus